Elvis Costello & The Attractions – Blood And Chocolate (1986/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Elvis Costello & The Attractions – Blood And Chocolate (1986/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 47:48 minutes | 1,91 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | @ Hip-O/Elvis Costello

Released only seven months following the rootsy King Of America, Blood & Chocolate was received as a more conventional, typical Elvis Costello album. Featuring the Attractions and produced by Nick Lowe, recorded live off the floor in London, Blood & Chocolate peaked at number 16 on the British chart.

Elvis Costello returned to the Attractions as quickly as he abandoned them, hiring the band and old producer Nick Lowe to record Blood & Chocolate, his second record in the span of one year. Where King of America was a stripped-down roots rock affair, Blood & Chocolate is a return to the harder rock of This Year’s Model. Occasionally, there are hints of country and folk, but the majority of the album is straight-ahead rock & roll: the opener, “Uncomplicated,” only has two chords. The main difference between the reunion and the Attractions’ earlier work is the tone – This Year’s Model was tense and out of control, whereas Blood & Chocolate is controlled viciousness. “Tokyo Storm Warning,” “I Hope You’re Happy Now,” and “I Want You” are the nastiest songs he has ever recorded, both lyrically and musically – Costello snarls the lyrics and the Attractions bash out the chords. Blood & Chocolate doesn’t retain that high level of energy throughout the record, however, and loses momentum toward the end of the album. Still, it’s a lively and frequently compelling reunion, even if it is a rather mean-spirited one.

01 – Uncomplicated
02 – I Hope You’re Happy Now
03 – Tokyo Storm Warning
04 – Home Is Anywhere You Hang Your Head
05 – I Want You
06 – Honey Are You Straight Or Are You Blind
07 – Blue Chair
08 – Battered Old Bird
09 – Crimes Of Paris
10 – Poor Napoleon
11 – Next Time Round