Stéphane Kerecki & John Taylor – Patience (2011) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Stéphane Kerecki & John Taylor – Patience (2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 50:45 minutes | 822 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front cover | © Zig-Zag Territoires

For jazz musicians, the duo of piano and double bass is a perilous exercise in tightrope-walking, reserved for enthusiasts of extreme refinement, those who like to dance on the edge of abysses. Its alchemy is mysterious. By releasing the account of his brief encounter with John Taylor, Stéphane Kerecki does more than merely delight music-lovers; he proves once again that jazz cannot exist without sometimes flirting with the void.

The tandem formed by Stéphane Kerecki and John Taylor now marks a new landmark in the genre. Between these two musicians, the osmosis was immediate, self-evident, thanks to a set of qualities rarely assembled: fluidity of dialogue, beauty of sound, sobriety of gesture . . . and total confidence in each other, a solidarity which removes fear of the void, of missing one’s footing. From this vivid double bass and this colouristic piano emerges music that burns with a tranquil flame; music to get through the night. One might almost forget that it is invented on the razor’s edge . . .

Like close friends reunited after a long separation, the two musicians – who in fact hardly knew each other – at once start revealing their secrets. Their nocturnal conversation describes imaginary landscapes sketched out by the bassist’s pen, conjuring up in passing the presences of some poets of jazz: Bill Evans, Scott La Faro, Ornette Coleman, Paul Bley, Gary Peacock.

01 – Prologue
02 – Manarola
03 – Patience
04 – Kung Fu
05 – Gary
06 – Interlude
07 – La source
08 – Valse pour John
09 – Bad Drummer
10 – Jade Visions
11 – Luminescence
12 – Épilogue