The Who – Tommy (1969/1996/2011) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

The Who – Tommy (1969/1996/2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 74:57 minutes | 1,79 GB (Incl. 5% Recovery)
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet

Recognized as the first rock opera, The Who’s Tommy set a new standard for the concept album in rock. About a deaf, dumb and blind pinball master, the double album (which featured the monster hit “Pinball Wizard”) shot The Who to superstardom. As well as being hugely successful, the album also established the band as one of the most ambitious and innovative groups of the 1960s and 70s. This hi-res release adds a new dimension to the rock masterpiece, making for an essential re-experience.

The full-blown rock opera about a deaf, dumb, and blind boy that launched the band to international superstardom, written almost entirely by Townshend. It was hailed as a breakthrough upon its release, but its critical standing has diminished somewhat in the ensuing decades, because of the occasional pretensions of the concept, and the insubstantial nature of some of the songs that functioned as little more than devices to advance the rather sketchy plot. Nonetheless, the double album has many excellent songs, including “I’m Free,” “Pinball Wizard,” “Sensation,” “Christmas,” “We’re Not Gonna Take It,” and the dramatic ten-minute instrumental, “Underture.” Though the album was slightly flawed, Townshend’s ability to construct a lengthy conceptual narrative brought new possibilities to rock music. Despite the complexity of the project, he and the Who never lost sight of solid pop melodies, harmonies, and forceful instrumentation, imbuing the material with a suitably powerful grace.

01 – Overture
02 – It’s A Boy
03 – 1921
04 – Amazing Journey
05 – Sparks
06 – Eyesight To The Blind (The Hawker)
07 – Christmas
08 – Cousin Kevin
09 – The Acid Queen
10 – Underture
11 – Do You Think It’s Alright?
12 – Fiddle About
13 – Pinball Wizard
14 – There’s A Doctor
15 – Go To The Mirror!
16 – Tommy Can You Hear Me?
17 – Smash The Mirror
18 – Sensation
19 – Miracle Cure
20 – Sally Simpson
21 – I’m Free
22 – Welcome
23 – Tommy’s Holiday Camp
24 – We’re Not Gonna Take It